New Rule For Indian Expats Working in 18 ECR Countries – About Online Registration on Emigrate Platform

Ministry of External Affairs, New Delhi, had issued a notice regarding a new rule for Indian expats working in 18 ECR countries about online registration on emigrate platform on the 14th of November,2018.

Everything You Should Know About New Rule For Indian Expats Working in 18 ECR Countries

The new rule will be implemented from January 1, 2019, according to a notice issued by the Ministry of External Affairs in India.

All Indian expatriates working in the 18 ECR countries or traveling to these countries with a non-ECR passport have to do a mandatory one-time registration on the country’s e-migrate platform,

Failure to do so will result in the off-loading of unregistered non-ECNR emigrants at all international airports across India, starting January 1, 2019.

According to a notice issued by the MEA on November 14, expatriates are required to complete the registration at least 24 hours before departure at

It is noted that Indian expatriates working in these 18 ECR countries need not register on the e-migrate platform.

Launched in 2015, e-Migrate is an online registration system for foreign employers to recruit Indian workers. Indian citizens with ECR stamps on their passports must get their job offers cleared through the e-Migrate system.

The system was introduced to protect unskilled and illiterate blue-collar workers from contract substitution, exploitation, and human trafficking.

By introducing the new rule, the government is offering similar protection to the non-ECR category.

To register, visit the website and key in the details at the link “ECNR registration,” and follow the steps to fill the registration form. On successful completion of registration, the emigrant would receive an SMS/email.

These are 18 ECR Countries on Which New Rule Will be Applied

Afghanistan, Bahrain, Indonesia, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Malaysia, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, South Sudan, Syria, Thailand, UAE, and Yemen.

Who Should Register Online in Emigrate Platform?

All current ECR (eligible for conversion to ECNR after three years) and ECNR passport-holding expatriates working in these countries should register along with new employment visa holders traveling to these countries for the first time.

The registration for ECR passport-holders has been in force for some time based on eligibility, so this mandate is now majorly directed toward ECNR passport-holders.

Different Between ECR and ECNR Passport


It stands ‘Emigration Check Required”.

It is endorsed in the passport if a person is leaving from his/her native country to another country for a job/employment.

The ECR stamp is endorsed to the passports of those people who have no educational qualifications or who have academic qualifications below the 10th standard.

It is required for the safety of Indian citizens abroad due to the legal conditions of other countries and is based on different conditions or situations.


It stands ‘Emigration Check NOT Required.’

An ECNR passport is usually given to individuals who have covered the minimum qualification level of matriculation or Grade 10, or to children and teenagers under the age of 18, as well as Indian citizens paying Income tax.

Here is The Complete Notice

[pdf-embedder url=””]

Scroll to Top